While the 72nd Creative Arts Emmy Awards took place virtually this year, they were not going to let a pandemic stop them from honoring the best of what makes television so magical.  The awards were given out over four consecutive nights and with the final ceremony taking place Sunday, September 21st, at the Staples Center in Los Angeles.  This year’s Makeup Artists and Hairstylist winners included Doniella Davy, Kirsten Sage Coleman and Tara Lang Shah for Euphoria. Check out the On Set: Doniella Davy + Euphoria feature from our Fall 2019 issue. Other winners include Patricia Regan, Claus Lulla, Joseph A. Campayno, Margot Boccia, Michael Laudati, Tomasina Smith, Roberto Baez, and Alberto Machuca for The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, James Robert Mackinnon, Vincent Van Dyke, Richard Redlefse, Neville Page, and Michael Ornelaz for Star Trek: Picard “Absolute Candor” and many more.

Congratulations to all of the 2020 Emmy Award winners!  See complete list of winners below.

Outstanding Prosthetic Makeup for A Series, Limited Series, Movie Or Special

Star Trek: Picard, “Absolute Candor” – CBS All Access

  • James Robert Mackinnon, Special Makeup Effects Department Head
  • Vincent Van Dyke, Prosthetic Designer
  • Richard Redlefsen, Special Makeup Effects Artist
  • Alexei Dmitriew, Special Makeup Effects Artist
  • Neville Page, Prosthetic Designer
  • Michael Ornelaz, Makeup Effects Artist

Outstanding Contemporary Hairstyling

Black-ish, “Hair Day” – ABC

  • Araxi Lindsey, Department Head Hairstylist
  • Robert C. Mathews lll, Additional Hairstylist
  • Enoch Williams, Key Hairstylist

Outstanding Period and/or Character Makeup (Non-Prosthetic)

The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, “It’s Comedy Or Cabbage” – Amazon Prime Video

  • Patricia Regan, Department Head Makeup Artist
  • Claus Lulla, Key Makeup Artist
  • Joseph A. Campayno, Key Makeup Artist
  • Margot Boccia, Makeup Artist
  • Michael Laudati, Makeup Artist
  • Tomasina Smith, Makeup Artist
  • Roberto Baez, Makeup Artist
  • Alberto Machuca, Makeup Artist

Outstanding Contemporary Makeup For A Variety, Nonfiction Or Reality Program (Non-Prosthetic)

RuPaul’s Drag Race – VH1

  • Natasha Marcelina, Department Head Makeup Artist
  • David Petruschin, Makeup Artist
  • Jen Fregozo, Makeup Artist
  • Nicole Faulkner, Makeup Artist

Outstanding Contemporary Hairstyling For A Variety, Nonfiction Or Reality Program

RuPaul’s Drag Race – VH1

  • Curtis Foreman, Department Head Hairstylist
  • Ryan Randall, Hairstylist

Outstanding Contemporary Makeup (Non-Prosthetic)

Euphoria – HBO

  • Doniella Davy, Department Head Makeup Artist
  • Kirsten Sage Coleman, Assistant Department Head Makeup Artist
  • Tara Lang Shah, Makeup Artist

Outstanding Period And/Or Character Hairstyling

Hollywood – Netflix

  • Michelle Ceglia, Department Head Hairstylist
  • Barry Lee Moe, Assistant Department Head Hairstylist
  • George Guzman, Hairstylist
  • Michele Arvizo, Hairstylist
  • Maria Elena Pantoja, Hairstylist