INDUSTRY NEWS: 2024 MUAHS Guild Awards Nominees

Shalqar The Make-Up Artists & Hair Stylists Guild (MUAHS, IATSE Local 706) has announced nominations for the 1th Annual MUAHS Guild Awards! The MUAHS Awards represent a spectrum of outstanding achievements in makeup and hair styling artistry in motion pictures, television, commercials, and live theater.

Winners will be honored at the awards gala live in Los Angeles on Sunday, February 18, 2024. The nominations announcement was made by MUAHS President Julie Socash. The Powder Group is honored to, once again, be among the media sponsors for the event. The nominees for Outstanding Make-Up Artists can be found below and the full list of makeup and hair nominees can be found at  by clicking here.


Best Contemporary Make-up

  • Candy Cane Lane – Tym Shutchai Buacharern, Michele Lewis, Jennifer Zide-Essex, Yvettra Grantham
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3– Jane Galli, Personal to Chris Pratt
  • The Haunted Mansion– Kimberly Jones, Dionne Wynn, Bridgit Crider, Carla VanNessa Wallace
  • Nyad– Felicity Bowring, Ann Maree Hurley, Julie Hewett, Mahar Lessner
  • Saltburn– Siân Miller, Laura Allen

Best Period and/or Character Make-up

  • Barbie– Ivana Primorac, Victoria Down, Maha Mimo,
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol 3– Alexei Dmitriew, Nicole Sortillon, Amos Samantha Ward, LuAndra Whitehurst
  • Maestro– Siân Grigg, Jackie Risotto, Elisa Tallerico, Nicky Pattison-Illum
  • Oppenheimer– Luisa Abel, Jason Hamer, Kerrin Jackson, Jamie Loree Hess
  • PoorThings – Nadia Stacey

Best Special Make-up Effects

  • Golda– Karen Hartley Thomas, Suzi Battersby
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3– Alexei Dmitriew, Lindsay MacGowen, Shane Mahan, Scott Stoddard
  • Maestro– Kazu Hiro, Siân Grigg, Duncan Jarman, Mike Mekash
  • Poor Things– Nadia Stacey, Mark Coulier
  • Rebel Moon: Part One – A Child of Fire – Ozzy Alvarez, Justin Raleigh, Kelsey Berk, Jonathan Shroyer


Best Contemporary Make-up

  • Abbot Elementary– Alisha L. Baijounas, Emilia Werynska, Jenn Bennett, Constance Foe
  • The Bear– Ignacia Soto-Aguilar, Nicole Rogers
  • The Idol – Kirsten Sage Coleman, Mandy Artusato, Jessie Bishop, Erin Blinn
  • The Last of Us – Connie Parker, Joanna Mireau, Joanne Preece, Danielle Hanson
  • Poker Face– Amy L. Forsythe, Heidi Pakdel-Payan, Rebecca Levine, Shannon Dollison

Best Period and /or Character Make-up

  • Ahsoka– Alexei Dmitriew, Cristina Waltz, Alex Perrone, Cale Thomas
  • The Crown – Cate Hall, Emilie Yong-Mills, Debbie Ormrod, Stacey Holman,
  • Daisy Jones & The Six – Rebecca Wachtel, RJ McCasland, Sherri Simmons, Michele Tyminski Schoenbach
  • Lessons in Chemistry – Miho Suzuki Herpich, Martina Kohl
  • The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel– Patricia Regan, Joseph A. Campayno, Claus Lulla, Michael Laudati

Best Special Make-up Effects

  • Ahsoka– Alexei Dmitriew, Cristina Waltz, Ana Gabriela Quinonez, Ian Goodwin
  • The Fall of the House of Usher – Ozzy Alvarez, Justin Raleigh, Kelsey Berk, Harlow MacFarlane
  • The Last of Us – Barrie Gower, Paul Spateri, Sarah Gower, Paula Eden
  • The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel– Mike Marino, Richard Redlefsen, Kevin Kirkpatrick
  • Star Trek Picard – James MacKinnon, Hugo Villasenor, Bianca Appice, Vincent VanDyke
  • The Witcher – Mark Coulier, Deb Watson, Stephen Murphy, Josh Weston



Best Contemporary Make-up

  • American Idol – Season 6 – Tonia Green, Gina Ghiglieri, Natalie Malchev, Michael Anthony
  • Dancing with the Stars– Julie Socash, Donna Bard, Lois Harriman, Sarah Woolf
  • Nickelodeon Kids’ Choice Awards – Thad Nalitz, Alison Gladieux, Christina Jimenez, Kathy Santiago
  • Saturday Night Live– Louie Zakarian, Amy Tagliamonti, Jason Milani, Young Bek
  • The Voice– Darcy Gilmore, Gina Ghiglieri, Kristene Bernard, Marylin Lee Spiegel

Best Period and/or Character Make-up

  • The Boulet Brothers’ Halfway to Halloween TV Special –Swanthula Boulet, Dracmorda Boulet
  • Dancing with the Stars– Julie Socash, Brian Sipe, James MacKinnon, Tyson Fountaine
  • Saturday Night Live –Louie Zakarian, Amy Tagliamonti, Jason Milani, Joanna Pisani
  • Best Special Make-up Effects
  • Dancing with the Stars – Brian Sipe, James MacKinnon, Cary Ayers, Julie Socash
  • Saturday Night Live – Louie Zakarian, Jason Milani, Bradon Grether, Tom Denier Jr.



Best Make-up

  • The Big Nailed It Baking Challenge – Moira Frazier, Denise Baker, Ryan Randall, LaLisa Turner
  • The Bold and the Beautiful – Christine Lai-Johnson, Hajja Barnes, Briana Garcia, Daniela Delgado
  • The Boulet Brothers’ Dragula– Swanthula Boulet, Dracmorda Boulet
  • The Kelly Clarkson Show– Chanty LaGrana, Gloria Elias-Foeillet, Valente Frazier, Monica Boyd Lester
  • The Young and the Restless– Stacey Browning, Jamie Kelch, Robert Bolger, Riley Nightingall



Best Make-up

  • American Born Chinese – Jorjee Linda Douglass, Mara Rouse, Nicole Hawkyard, Ralis Kahn
  • Danger Force– Michael Johnston, Brad Look, Kevin Westmore, Orlando Marin
  • Goosebumps– Zabrina Wanjiru Matiru, Werner Pretorius, Krista Hann, Felix Fox
  • Monster High 2– Leah Ehman, Gila Bois, Kiara Desjarlais, Lindsay Pilkey
  • The Santa Clauses– Erica Preus, Howard Berger, Scott Stoddard, Eryn Krueger Mekash


Best Make-up

  • American Horror Story: Delicate– Kerry Ann Herta, Jason Collins, Alyssa Morgan, Orlando Marin
  • Capital One – Quicksilver “Holiday Night Fever” with John Travolta as Santa – Michael Ornelaz, Scott Stoddard, Alexei Dmitriew, Connie Criswell
  • Doja Cat– Demons – Olha Tarnovetska, Catherine Paschen, Nicolas D. Gonzalez, Patrick Bradberry
  • GEICO– The Ease Specialist: Wormhole Edition – Jennifer Aspinall, Leonard MacDonald, Alla Sigga Jonsdotti
  • GM – NETFLIX: Will Ferrell Super Bowl Ad – Justin Raleigh, Tony Alvarez, Kelsey Berk, Jamie Kelman



Best Make-up

  • Die Frau ohne Schatten Opera by Richard Strauss – Jeanna Parham, Melanie Birch, Denise Gutierrez, Lisa Patnoe
  • Don Giovanni – Samantha Wiener, Brandi Strona, Nicole Rodrigues, Nathalie Eidt
  • Seuss’ How the Grinch Stole Christmas! The Musical– Robyn-Marie Rebbe, Chloe Nil Acerol, Ashley Roller, Angelina Avallone
  • Frida– Samantha Wiener, Brandi Strona, Nicole Rodrigues, Kelso Millett
  • MADCAP– San Francisco Ballet – Maurisa Rondeau, Gerd Mairandres, Jordan Plath, Toby Mayer

Also at the MUAHS, Michael Westmore, Oscar- and Emmy-winning make-up artist known for his iconic work on Rocky, Star Trek, Mask and Raging Bull, will be honored with the esteemed Vanguard Award. Kevin Haney, Oscar- and Emmy-winning make-up artist best known for his work on Driving Miss Daisy, Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3 and Hocus Pocus 2; and Ora T. Green, Emmy-nominated hair stylist known for her work on Star Trek: Nemesis, Blade and Good Times, will receive the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Awards.

Returning as producers of this year’s MUAHS Awards (#MUAHSawards) are IngleDodd

Media and Erick Weiss of Honeysweet Creative. Further inquiries regarding the MUAHS Awards should be directed to Sue Cabral-Ebert at For more information and to purchase tickets, please visit

The 11th Annual MUAHS Awards are proudly sponsored by Presenting Level: Ardell; Platinum Level: Eminence Organic Skin Care; Gold Level: Bespoke Pro Designs, Kizo Lab, Le Mieux Skin Care; Silver Level: belif Skincare, Dr. Groot Scalp & Haircare, MAC Cosmetics, Premiere Products Inc., RCMA Makeup. Media Sponsors: The Hollywood Reporter, The Powder Group, Shoot Online, Variety, The Wrap.

Please note: All efforts have been made to transpose the above details accurately. Any errors are unintentional and the most accurate representation of the above details can be found through